Thursday, February 11, 2010

Toyota Recall: Opportunity in disguise?

Photobucket
Karma at work.

I just wanted to say what a mess this whole Toyota recall has been. First off, for all you ignorant car imbeciles who think that this sticky gas pedal is a dangerous problem obviously don't know how to shift into Neutral, should the event occur, and thus should be resigned to die in a fiery car crash as a result of their inferior genes and intelligence. Much like most police officers. This is all survival of the fittest here. If you too stupid to be able to react in a potentially dangerous situation, you won't last. Thank god for Toyota's population control.

Photobucket
Typical, well educated Prius driver, probably from San Francisco (the Prius's natural habitat). Have another hit of acid buddy.

Also, this just confirms what I've been saying all along. That is that these hybrid cars are a mess of technology that we're just not ready for yet. Much like how everything on cars in the 80's was powered by a labyrinth of vacuum lines. We can clearly see now what a good idea THAT was! The problem with hybrids is that the batteries won't last the life of the car, which means at some point you will need to replace them. If your one of those idiots I spoke about above you probably aren't aware that rechargeable batteries, no matter what they're made of, lose the ability to hold a charge after continued use. ESPECIALLY constant recharging (which is what hybrid cars do). In fact, the brake problem on the Toyota Prius and Ford Fusion hybrid cars aren't in the actual braking system at all. The cars will all stop fine, the problem lies in the electronics that convert that heat and friction from braking into electrical energy to recharge those batteries.

Furthermore, Toyota is one of the most reputable companies in automotive history. They haven't had a negative quarter since the 1950's! Using their patented TPS system, every problem they come across they use as a learning experience which translates HEAVILY into quality control. This is just a minor setback and would not keep me from buying a new Camry or 4Runner at all. You can bet that once Toyota recovers from this they will come back bigger and stronger (and monetarily more powerful) than ever. So for you investors out there I know the stock has dropped about 20 points or so, but don't worry, buy as much as you can right now because you can bet your ass it will shoot back up.

If you really want a sustainable, ATTAINABLE alternative to these BetaMax-on-Wheels you should look no further than the TDI's coming from Volkwagen. They get the same mileage (sometimes better) as the hybrids do, I don't care which one, and will last many many years beyond the "hybrid-fad" of the turn of the century. Diesel engines are more robust to handle higher compression, usually turbo'd (which once you've had boost, you NEVER go back) and cheap and easy to maintain.

Photobucket
The Real Solution.

Diesel is the way of the future, at least until Hydrogen cars come around.

No comments:

Post a Comment